Si Woo Kim Wins The PLAYERS

Annually hosting one of the strongest fields in professional golf, even comparable to the four major championships, the talk coming into THE PLAYERS was all about the big names.

There was the white-hot Dustin Johnson, Masters Champion Sergio Garcia, defending PLAYERS champion Jason Day, and then names like Jordan, Rickie, and Phil.

In the end, the nearly $2 million dollar first prize, five-year Tour exemption, and entry into all the near-coming majors went to the most improbable winner, at least in recent years – 21-year-old South Korean Si Woo Kim.

Kim’s final nine was the epitome of defensive golf (9 pars), and by avoiding mistakes while it seemed every other player on the leaderboard was tripping over themselves, Kim became the all-time youngest winner of THE PLAYERS Championship.

A bogey-free 3-under 69 left Kim three strokes in front of Ian Poulter and Louis Oosthuizen, part of a top 5 represented by five different countries.

Final Top 10

1 Si Woo Kim -10
T2 Ian Poulter, Louis Oosthuizen -7
T4 Rafa Cabrera-Bello, Kyle Stanley -6
T6 Brendan Steele, Lucas Glover, Adam Scott, Francesco Molinari -5
10 Alex Noren -4

Credit: Pro Golf Weekly

Leave a Reply

Notify of