French Lick Resort Hosting Senior LPGA Championship

The Senior LPGA Championship tees off October 15 - 18 at French Lick Resort in French Lick, Indiana featuring 81 World Golf Hall of Fame members and broadcast on Golf Channel all three days.

FRENCH LICK, Indiana – The second-annual Senior LPGA Championship presented by Old National Bank will tee-off this week October 15-17, 2018 on the Pete Dye Course at French Lick Resort in French Lick, Indiana.

The tournament will again benefit Riley Children’s Foundation, which is connected to Riley Children’s Hospital, the premier children’s hospital in the region.

The field of 81 players include, members of the World Golf Hall of Fame, Major Champions, and past LPGA stars who will compete in the 54-hole Major Championship for a total purse of $600,000. Trish Johnson (England) will be defending her 2017 title.

The event will also be televised live on Golf Channel each of the three days. See schedule below:

Monday October 15 4-6 p.m. ET

Tuesday October 16 4-6 p.m. ET

Wednesday October 17 4-6 p.m. ET (Final Round)

World Golf Hall of Fame players highlighting the field include:

Dame Laura Davies (class of 2015) who won four major titles – the 1987 U.S. Women’s Open, the 1994 and 1996 McDonald’s LPGA Championship and the 1996 du Maurier Classic. She has notched 86 professional wins around the world, including 20 on the LPGA Tour and 45 on the Ladies European Tour (LET).

Juli Inkster, age 51, one of the favorites at the 2018 Senior LPGA Championship has played on the LPGA Tour spanning 29 years, with 31 wins ranks second in wins among all active players on the LPGA Tour.

Juli Inkster (class of 2000) will be making her debut at the Senior LPGA Championship after missing the inaugural event because she was broadcasting the 2017 U.S. Women’s Open on FOX. Inkster became the first LPGA rookie to win two major championships in one season – the 1984 Nabisco Dinah Shore and the du Maurier Classic.

Inkster is a 31-time LPGA Tour winner and seven-time major champion and is one of seven golfers to have completed the Career Grand Slam. She is also a nine-time member of the U.S. Solheim Cup Team, and the captain of the victorious 2015 and 2017 teams; she is set to captain a record-setting third time in 2019.

Hollis Stacy (class of 2012) gained golf stardom at an early age when she captured the 1970, 1971 and 1972 U.S. Girls’ Junior titles, a consecutive-wins streak that still stands. Her professional career was just as potent, as she counts the 1977, 1978 and 1984 U.S. Women’s Opens and the 1983 du Maurier Classic among her 18 career LPGA wins.

Jan Stephenson (Class of 2019) will be playing in both the Senior Championship and the Honors Division with the Legends. The Australian professional golfer became a member of the LPGA Tour in 1974 and won three major championships and 16 LPGA Tour events. She has 41 worldwide victories including (10) LPGA Legends Tour wins and 8 worldwide major championships.

Leave a Reply

Notify of