Travelers Championship Features Wyndham Clark and 23 of World’s Top 30

The Travelers Championship, a PGA Tour member-only elevated event featuring a $20 million purse, tees off June 22-25 at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Connecticut.

CROMWELL, Connecticut – The 2023 Travelers Championship full player field will feature the top-ranked player in the world, the current Masters champion, the top eight players in the Official World Golf Ranking, six previous winners of the event, and the 2023 winner of the U.S. Open. The tournament will be held June 19-25 at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Connecticut.

Players in the top eight include Scottie Scheffler, who is No. 1 in the OWGR; Jon Rahm, the reigning Masters champion (No. 2); Rory McIlroy (No. 3); Patrick Cantlay (No. 4); Viktor Hovland (No. 5); 2022 Travelers Championship winner Xander Schauffele (No. 6); Max Homa (No. 7); and 2022 U.S. Open winner Matt Fitzpatrick (No. 8). Wyndham Clark won the U.S. Open Sunday June 18 and is expected to participate.

Wyndham Clark breaks down in the arms of his caddy moments after winning the 123rd U.S. Open Sunday June 18 on the 18th green at Los Angeles Country Club. (Getty Images)

Of the 43 players in the top 50 of the OWGR who are healthy and eligible to play, this year’s Travelers Championship will feature 38 of them. Since the tournament is held annually after the U.S. Open, which this year was as Los Angeles Country Club, all players have committed but could be subject to WD. This week will mark Rory McIlroy’s fourth consecutive week, and he has publicly stated he dislikes playing more than three weeks in a row.

A field of 156 players will be competing in the Travelers Championship, which is a designated event on the PGA TOUR this year with an elevated purse of $20 million. In addition to Schauffele, past tournament champions in the field include Harris English (2021), Chez Reavie (2019), Russell Knox (2016), Kevin Streelman (2014) and Stewart Cink (2008, 1997).

The next generation of talent, including Ludvig Aberg, Sam Bennett, Ben James and Michael Thorbjornsen will compete. (Travelers Championship)

Golf’s youngest stars will also tee it up. The next generation of talent, including Ludvig Aberg, Sam Bennett, Ben James and Michael Thorbjornsen will be here.

“We are proud of our long tradition of producing world-class professional golf to golf fans in Connecticut and New England,” said tournament director Nathan Grube at a media day event May 2. “Since we are considered an elevated events, this year’s field is as good as any we have ever had. We have 23 of the top 30 players in the world competing and expectations are high for our sponsors, fans and players.”

Fans are welcome on-site beginning Wednesday, June 21, and tickets are still available. The tournament will be televised by Golf Channel (3–6 p.m. Thursday and Friday, 1–3 p.m. Saturday and Sunday) and CBS (3–6 p.m. Saturday and Sunday).

On the web:



Aberg, Ludvig

Alexander, Tyson

An, Byeong Hun

Bennett, Sam

Bezuidenhout, Christiaan

Blair, Zac

Bradley, Keegan

Bramlett, Joseph

Brehm, Ryan

Buckley, Hayden

Cantlay, Patrick

Champ, Cameron

Cink, Stewart

Clark, Wyndham

Cole, Eric

Conners, Corey

Dahmen, Joel

Davis, Cam

Day, Jason

Detry, Thomas

Dufner, Jason

Duncan, Tyler

Echavarria, Nico

Eckroat, Austin

English, Harris

Finau, Tony

Fitzpatrick, Matt

Fleetwood, Tommy

Fowler, Rickie

Frittelli, Dylan

Gay, Brian

Ghim, Doug

Glover, Lucas

Gordon, Will

Griffin, Ben

Griffin, Lanto

Grillo, Emiliano

Hadley, Chesson

Hahn, James

Hall, Harry

Hardy, Nick

Harman, Brian

Henley, Russell

Herbert, Lucas

Herman, Jim

Hickok, Kramer

Higgo, Garrick

Hodges, Lee

Hoffman, Charley

Hoge, Tom

Holmes, J.B.

Homa, Max

Horschel, Billy

Hossler, Beau

Hovland, Viktor

Hubbard, Mark

Hughes, Mackenzie

Im, Sungjae

Jaeger, Stephan

James, Benjamin

Johnson, Zach

Kim, Michael

Kim, S.H.

Kim, Si Woo

Kim, Tom

Kisner, Kevin

Kitayama, Kurt

Kizzire, Patton

Knox, Russell

Kraft, Kelly

Kuchar, Matt

Laird, Martin

Landry, Andrew

Lashley, Nate

Lee, K.H.

Lingmerth, David

Lipsky, David

List, Luke

Long, Adam

Lower, Justin

Lowry, Shane

Malnati, Peter

Martin, Ben

Matsuyama, Hideki

McCarthy, Denny

McGreevy, Max

McIlroy, Rory

Merritt, Troy

Molinari, Francesco

Montgomery, Taylor

Moore, Ryan

Moore, Taylor

Morikawa, Collin

Mullinax, Trey

NeSmith, Matt

Noren, Alex

Novak, Andrew

Palmer, Ryan

Pan, C.T.

Pendrith, Taylor

Piercy, Scott

Poston, J.T.

Power, Seamus

Putnam, Andrew

Rahm, Jon

Rai, Aaron

Ramey, Chad

Reavie, Chez

Redman, Doc

Riley, Davis

Rodgers, Patrick

Ryder, Sam

Schauffele, Xander

Scheffler, Scottie

Schenk, Adam

Schwab, Matthias

Scott, Adam

Shelton, Robby

Sigg, Greyson

Simpson, Webb

Smalley, Alex

Smotherman, Austin

Spaun, J.J.

Stallings, Scott

Stevens, Sam

Straka, Sepp

Streb, Robert

Streelman, Kevin

Suh, Justin

Svensson, Adam

Svoboda, Andrew

Tarren, Callum

Taylor, Ben

Theegala, Sahith

Thomas, Justin

Thompson, Davis

Thorbjornsen, Michael

Todd, Brendon

Tway, Kevin

van Rooyen, Erik

Walker, Jimmy

Wallace, Matt

Watney, Nick

Werenski, Richy

Willett, Danny

Wise, Aaron

Woodland, Gary

Wu, Brandon

Wu, Dylan

Young, Cameron

Leave a Reply

Notify of