New England PGA Names 2020 Award Winners

Rob Jarvis, of Bangor Municipal Golf Course, has been named 2020 New England PGA Golf Professional of the Year, awarded for overall performance as a golf professional at his facility, for his level of service to the Section and to the Association, and for his leadership to inspire fellow professionals and promotion of the game of golf.

BOSTON, Mass — The New England Professional Golfers’ Association (New England PGA), one of the 41 sections that comprise the PGA of America, has been making the game of golf better for over 100 years in New England.

As a non-profit association, the New England PGA is dedicated to promoting the game of golf, and consists of over 900 PGA class A golf professionals and over 120 PGA associates at over 450 golf facilities in five states – Rhode Island, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, and Maine. These facilities include public, private, and resort facilities that provide golf courses, teaching centers, and driving ranges.

The 2020 New England PGA Award Winners have been selected and the awards dinner is scheduled Saturday, November 14 at Renaissance Golf Club in Haverhill, Mass.

Jim Salinetti, of Winchester Countrty Club, has been honored with the Bill Strausbaugh award, for demonstrating a record of service to the Section; leadership ability; contributions to building the image of the game of golf, and for making significant contributions in civic activities within his community with local charitable causes; and recognition as a person of outstanding character.

Rob Jarvis, of Bangor Municipal Golf Club, a man who has held many titles within the New England PGA, headlines the list of eleven 2020 NEGPA Award Winners being selected as Golf Professional of the Year.

Throughout his 26-year career, Jarvis has made a significant impact at both Bangor Municipal and the NEPGA. The NEPGA President from 2015-17, Jarvis was the Section’s first President from Maine and the youngest in the Section’s history. He currently serves as the President of the NEPGA Foundation, an arm of the Section he helped create during his term as President.

Prior to his presidency, Jarvis served as the Maine Chapter Awards Committee Chair, and soon after was elected to the Maine Chapter Board of Directors. After serving in that capacity for several years, he was elected as the Maine Chapter District Director in 2013, a position he held until being elected as NEPGA President in 2015. At Bangor Municipal GC, Jarvis has helped grow membership by nearly 50 percent since 2016, growing from 275 members to over 400.

Paul Coutoumas, of D.W. Field Golf Course, will be honored with the 2020 Player Development Award to recognize his extraordinary contributions and achievements in the area of player development, and for growing the game with positive impact made at the local level.

“Winning NEPGA Golf Professional of the Year is an incredible personal recognition, but as any prior winner will tell you, this award is really a team achievement,” Jarvis said. “I am so grateful for those around me that have played a pivotal role in any successes I may have had along the way.”

The list of the 11 talented golf professionals who will be honored as 2020 NEPGA Special Award Winners includes:

Golf Professional of the Year: Rob Jarvis (Bangor Municipal GC)

Assistant Golf Professional of the Year: Jo-Anna Krupa (Belmont CC)

Patriot Award: Josh Olney (Orleans)

Player Development: Paul Coutoumas (D.W. Field GC)

Teacher of the Year: Shawn Hester (TPC Boston)

Merchandiser of the Year (Private): Graham Cunningham (Framingham CC)

Merchandiser of the Year (Resort): Gordon Swennes (Wentworth By The Sea)

Merchandiser of the Year (Public): Phill Davis (Beaver Meadow GC)

Youth Player Development: Kelli Kostick (Windham CC)

Bill Strausbaugh: Jim Salinetti (Winchester CC)

Deacon Palmer: Harry Rose (Needham GC)

Shawn Hester, of TPC Boston, has been named 2020 Teacher of the Year, having won the honors in 2002 & 2012 while working from Charles River Country Club.

The 2020 NEPGA award winners represent four of the Section’s six Chapters, including the Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont and Maine Chapters. Five of the 11 award-winners will take home a Section award for the first time.

Award winners are chosen through a selective process. After being nominated to the NEPGA Awards Committee and Board of Directors by a fellow PGA member, nominees complete and submit their application. The Awards Committee then reviews each application before making its recommendations to the NEPGA Board of Directors.

Harry Rose, of Needham Golf Club, will be honored with the Deacon Palmer Award, bestowed a PGA Golf Professional who personally displays outstanding integrity, character and leadership, in the effort to overcome a major obstacle in their life, who often times is an unsung hero at their facility, and who serve to inspire, empower and assist others, both inside and outside of the game.

Leave a Reply

Notify of