New England PGA honors 2020 & 2021 award winners

The New England PGA honored 13 of its finest professionals at the 2021 New England PGA Awards Banquet held at Nashawtuc Country Club November 20.

CONCORD, Mass. — The New England PGA recently honored its 2020 and 2021 Award Winners in ceremonies at Nashawtuc Country Club in Concord, Mass. In all, 23 New England PGA professionals and industry leaders were honored for their accomplishments during 2020 and 2021.

The event was filled with impactful speeches and stories from the award winners, all of whom come from different areas of New England as all five states were represented. New England PGA Executive Director Michael Higgins, New England PGA honorary president Allen Belden and Jim Remy, past president of the PGA of America performed host duties.

Two veteran, well-known New England golf figures – Tom Cavicchi (l) and Ron Philo Jr. – were inducted into the New England PGA Golf Hall of Fame.

Each night featured a three-time cancer survivor receiving the Deacon Palmer Award, given annually to a PGA Professional who has overcome significant life challenges. Additionally, the Bill Strausbaugh Award was given to a Professional who has excelled in mentoring their peers. The New England PGA Sections highest honor, the Professional of the Year Award, was awarded as well. Josh Olney, Orleans Country Club in Vermont attended each night, as he won the 2020 Patriot Award and the 2021 Professional of the Year Award.

Six individuals were inducted into the New England PGA Hall of Fame. Four were considered “Legends” and inducted posthumously, while two were present at the awards ceremony. Willie & Georgina Campbell, Tom McNamara, and Harold “Jug” McSpaden were inducted posthumously. with the great grandsons of McNamara and the Campbell’s on-hand to accept on their behalf. Long-time New England PGA member Tom Cavicchi, of The Harmon Club and Ron Philo, Jr., Victoria National Golf Club were inducted in front of family and friends as the two newest members of the New England PGA Golf Hall of Fame.

New England PGA award winners from 2020 were honored at Nashawtuc CC last week in recognition of their accomplishments two years ago.


Golf Professional of the Year: Rob Jarvis, PGA (Bangor Municipal GC)

Assistant Golf Professional of the Year: Jo-Anna Krupa, PGA (Belmont CC)

Patriot Award: Josh Olney, PGA (Orleans CC)

Player Development: Paul Coutoumas, PGA (D.W. Field GC)

2020 Bill Strausbaugh award winner Jim Salinetti (3rd from left) (Winchester GC) is flanked by NEPGA honorary president Allen Belden, PGA member Larry Kelley and NEPGA executive director Michael Higgins.

Teacher of the Year: Shawn Hester, PGA (TPC Boston)

Merchandiser of the Year (Private): Graham Cunningham, PGA (Framingham CC)

Merchandiser of the Year (Resort): Gordon Swennes, PGA (Wentworth By The Sea)

Merchandiser of the Year (Public): Phill Davis, PGA (Beaver Meadow GC)

Youth Player Development: Kelli Kostick, PGA (Windham CC)

Josh Olney, of Orleans CC (VT), received the 2021 New England PGA Professional of the Year award from honorary president Allen Belden.

Bill Strausbaugh: Jim Salinetti, PGA (Winchester CC)

Deacon Palmer: Harry Rose, PGA (Needham GC)

George S. Wemyss Award: Ron Philo Jr. (Victoria National Golf Course)


Golf Professional of the Year: Josh Olney, PGA (Orleans CC)

Assistant Professional of the Year: Ed Doherty II, PGA (Black Rock CC)

Patriot Award: Peter Doherty, PGA (Atkinson Resort)

Player Development Award: Eric Barlow, PGA (Winchester CC)

Peter Norton, former head pro at Thorny Lea GC for 30 years, received the 2021 Deacon Palmer award, that celebrates an individual who displays outstanding integrity, character and leadership in the effort to overcome a major obstacle in their life. Peter is a three-time cancer survivor.

Youth Player Development Award: Seul-Ki Hawley, PGA (Winchester CC)

Teacher of the Year: Adam Kolloff, PGA (Pure Drive Golf)

Merchandiser of the Year – Private: Jim Clay, PGA (New Seabury on Cape Cod)

Golf Executive of the Year: Brian Bickford, PGA (Maine State Golf Association)

Professional Development Award: Michael Sullivan, PGA (Oyster Harbors Club)

Brian Bickford, Executive Director Maine State Golf Association, was honored as 2021 Golf Executive of the Year by the New England PGA.

Bill Strausbaugh Award: Eric Steindel, PGA (Wianno Club)

Deacon Palmer Award: Peter Norton, PGA (Blue Hill CC)

George S. Wemyss Award: Bob Ward (Rhode Island Golf Association)

(Content for this report was provided by New England PGA)

Leave a Reply

Notify of