Josh Olney Headlines 2021 New England PGA Award Winners

Josh Olney, General Manager of Orleans Country Club (Barton, Vermont), has been named 2021 New England PGA Golf Professional of the Year.

BOYLSTON, Mass. – Josh Olney has prided himself on going the extra mile and this year his efforts have been rewarded.

In addition to his day-to-day duties as General Manager of Orleans Country Club (Barton, Vermont), Olney has taken it upon himself to give back in a myriad of ways. He has been a leader among his peers, serving as the Vermont Chapter President, and given back to the community with free junior clinics each summer and an annual fundraising tournament, the Olney Invitational, to support Veterans.

For his contibutions to golf, Olney has been recognized as the 2021 New England PGA Golf Professional of the Year.

Olney is one of 11 NEPGA Professionals to earn recognition for their service and dedication to their profession as the NEPGA announced its full slate of 2021 award winners. The 2021 NEPGA award winners will be recognized at the annual Awards Dinner on November 20, 2021 at Nashawtuc Country Club.

Jim Clay, Director of Golf at The Club at New Seabury, has been selected 2021 New England PGA Merchandiser of the Year.

The complete list of the 11 golf professionals recognized as 2021 New England PGA award winners includes:

Golf Professional of the Year: Josh Olney, PGA (Orleans CC)

Assistant Professional of the Year: Ed Doherty II, PGA (Black Rock CC)

Patriot Award: Peter Doherty, PGA (Atkinson Resort)

Player Development Award: Eric Barlow, PGA (Winchester CC)

Youth Player Development Award: Seul-Ki Hawley, PGA (Winchester CC)

Teacher of the Year: Adam Kolloff, PGA (Pure Drive Golf)

Merchandiser of the Year – Private: Jim Clay, PGA (New Seabury on Cape Cod)

Golf Executive of the Year: Brian Bickford, PGA (Maine State Golf Association)

Professional Development Award: Michael Sullivan, PGA (Oyster Harbors Club)

Bill Strausbaugh Award: Eric Steindel, PGA (Wianno Club)

Deacon Palmer Award: Peter Norton, PGA (Blue Hill CC)

Peter Norton, formerly of Blue Hill CC and Thorny Lea GC, has been named recipient of the prestigious 2021 New England PGA Deacon Palmer Award, for outstanding integrity, character and leadership, in an effort to overcome a major obstacle in life while serving to inspire and assist others inside and outside of the game.

Brian Bickford is the maiden recipient of the newly added Golf Executive of the Year Award for his efforts with the Maine State Golf Association. The 2021 award winners represent five of the NEPGA’s six Chapters, including Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, and Cape Cod.

Award winners are selected through a thorough process. Chapter award winners are advanced to become Section nominees, and additional nominees are submitted to the NEPGA Awards Committee and Board of Directors by a fellow PGA member. Nominees then complete their award application and the Awards Committee carefully reviews each application before making its recommendations to the NEPGA Board of Directors.

Leave a Reply

Notify of